Microscope Image

I do not know where the ongoing 99 Names Project will ultimately go, but when it was started, I wanted the very best documentation.  In the area in which I work, there are a large number of student photographers, wedding photographers, and family portrait photographers, each of whom are willing to give art photography “a shot.”  Thankfully, I found the one photographer with my sense of humor, an extraordinarily keen eye for artists’ intent, and who has received training in curatorial photography from both the Getty and the Smithsonian–David Hawkinson of Hawkinson Photography.  Sadly, whether due to my own inadequacy in communication or for some other reason, his work has not been properly recognized in all the instances of its use.  Whenever any of the sculptures for the 99 Names Project is shown in its best light, it is because of David’s photography.

