Dr. Masaru Emoto water crystal photography

A few years ago in my alchemy studies I did a simple experiment with salt water, and was completely stunned by the results.

My instructor directed me to get two identical glass jars, identical strings and washers, and identical sticks.  I tied washers at the end of both strings, tied them each to each of the identical pens, and set each of them in one of the two identical jars so the strings were suspended in the jars with the washers touching the bottom.  As should be gathered, it was vital that the setups were absolutely identical.  Then I dissolved 2 cups of salt in 2 cups of boiling spring water, and when the liquid had cooled just enough not to crack the jars, I poured equal amounts into each jar.  I placed one jar in my study area, and one out of the way on a shelf, ensuring that neither was near a vent and that both received the same amount of light.  Then for the next several days I read, spoke, and said nice things to the one jar in my study area (feeling more than a bit awkward), and either ignored or gave nasty glances to the other jar.  Within a week, the salt solution in my study area had an astounding volume of salt crystals growing every which way, and I was amazed at how well the experiment had worked.  My alchemy instructor told me to compare it with the jar I had been sending negative “vibes” to, and I was astounded–everything from the setup to the solution was identical, but the second jar had produced less than a quarter of the volume of salt crystals than the first!

The experiment was to show we have a definite effect on our environment and was to underscore how important it is to be supportive and nurturing to those around us, but that wasn’t enough for me.  I proceeded to repeat the experiment with a dozen different kinds of water (fresh spring, distilled, purified, artesian, etc.) and a dozen different kinds of salt (natural sea salt, mined salt, and salt from several areas around the world).  I also placed the two jars in different areas of the house, and sometimes right next to each other, making certain that every variable I could recognize was identical – except for one of the two jars was treated with kindness and support, and the other with derision.  I thought I was losing it, because each and every time the mixture receiving my positive thoughts always grew fantastic, voluminous crystals while the other always looked sad and lonely by comparison.  And the truly weird thing is, every person I’ve told this to who has done the experiment always repeated my results.

Like I said, weird.

This was not in a lint-free negative-pressure lab environment, it was done in my home, but I believe the results are remarkable and more than a little suggestive.  If the salt crystal “behaves” differently as a result of my attentions, positive or negative, how much more of an effect does my behavior have on my wife, my children, the family pets, coworkers?  Perhaps there were consistent variables I wasn’t seeing, but whether the effects on the salt crystals came from my positive/negative encouragement or consistent variables that paralleled my behavior, either way my attitude had a specific and measurable effect.

A while ago I watched the movie What the Bleep Do We Know?  Aside from having some cameos by actors I enjoy watching, the film discusses the quantum-level reality that we as mere humans have measurable effects on particles simply by the fact of our observation of the event.

In the movie, my hero Armin Shimerman mentions an observation he’s made to the movie’s protagonist, Marlee Matlin, while she is looking at a display in the subway.  The display is of images by Dr. Masaru Emoto – Dr. Emoto took several images of water crystals after exposing them to different stimuli like kind and negative words, images of Gandhi and Hitler, etc, and found the crystals actually looked different.  The ones subject to “positive” influence were beautiful, the ones subject to “negative” influence looked damaged, unbalanced, or “hurt.”

Armin’s observation was simply, “If thoughts can do that to water, imagine what our thoughts can do to us.”

