Nadia's Cooking

Moujaddara is full of nutrition, and once you make up your mind that you like it, it may become a regular in your diet.

As it is a simple recipe to prepare – and in the olden days when laundry was laboriously hand washed, the usual meal on laundry day was Moujaddara.  So one day, the newly hired washer woman said to mother, “Ya sitt Marie, (Oh, Madam Marie,) my job takes me to a different home every day, and what do you think they serve me in those homes?  Moujaddara… So, you see, ya sitt Marie, for them laundry day is only once a week, but for me, it is every day!” My mom became the wiser…

Moujaddara comes in two main versions, as Moujaddara or as Moutaqtaqua, which at times can be confusing. Both versions use the same ingredients, and are cooked similarly with slight variations: Moutaqtaqua (photo…

View original post 352 more words

