I wish I was wise enough to learn wisdom through the trials of others, and avoid my own pain.

Nasty things happen to good people, and all of us who wish to believe we’re good, and sometimes it seems very difficult to see the way through.  When I was suffering from a painful illness as a teenager, the way my doctor helped me deal with the discomfort was to breathe through it, and determine to make it for just another hour, or another minute, or just another breath – then the next, and the next.  Then finally, the bout of pain was over and I could recover.  I remember clearly the sparkle of clarity after such periods, and it reminds me of 1 Kings 19:12 –

And after the earthquake a fire; but the LORD was not in the fire:  and after the fire a still small voice.

It still sucks, but sometimes the thing that keeps us clinging is that small flicker of hope which tells us that once we’re through things will open up.  Things do get better, the scars we receive help us grow stronger, and the sun always comes out after the rain.

