This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For the last several months, I’ve been designing and cutting out the pieces for the next 25 sculptures.  The Names in this sequence (here or here) relate to each other in interesting ways, and remind me of expanding stars or fertile pollen.  The photos are of the patterns used to cut the glass, and I’ll be adding more photos and discuss what I was thinking in the designs in the next week or two, then start adding photos of the completed sculptures.

One of my favorite shapes to work with is the greater stellated dodecahedron – partly because the name is cool, partly because it makes a beautiful star shape.  But mostly because there’s a lot of symbolism to the numbers and shapes involved in its construction.

Great Stellated Dodecahedron Image from Wikimedia Commons

Great Stellated Dodecahedron
Image from Wikimedia Commons

For more on stellations and dimensional geometry construction, check out Paper Models of Polyhedra.

