Thank you to all supporters of the 99 Names Project!  I am forging ahead on Names 26-50, with hopes of completing the sculptures by the end of April.  I have a full time job, but since I’m not also teaching this term, there’s more time to focus on these glass pieces.

In this selection of Names (I’m using lists at Sufism.org and Wahiduddin.net – both of which use very similar lists with slightly different translations), there are a lot of resonances where two or three Names seem to vibrate together as complimenting facets of the same idea.  For example, Al-Basir (Seer), Al-Khabir (All-Aware), and Ar-Raqib (Watchful) feel like they belong to each other and support each other.  It’s difficult to articulate in words how I can “hear” them corresponding with each other in my thoughts, but it’s there just the same.  I’m excited to be able to finish them.

Here’s a couple pictures of the pieces now:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you for supporting the 99 Names Project!

