Celestial Spheres

As one North American religious leader stated, religion is “to make bad men good and good men better”.  Religion and faith around the world teaches, at its heart, compassion towards others regardless of circumstance.

 

Just from a Christian standpoint (and parallels are found in every major world religion), Jesus said “In my Father’s house are many mansions…” (John 14:2), and “The sabbath was made for man, and not man for the sabbath” (Mark 2:27).  These two sentiments support the concept that Heaven is a lot bigger than we might suppose, and faith is meant to help us become more of what we can be, and not to restrict or breed hatred.

 

It’s people, not religion, that bring hurt and heatlessness under the false guise of faith.

 

I join people of faith around the world in the prayers I offer for all those affected by the recent horrible events in Florida.  Although I find myself agreeing with the many, many statements of support from numerous religious and faith organizations, I share a link to the letter of support from my friends at Religions for Peace : Statement on the Orlando Tragedy and Suffering.

 

All are God’s children.

And all deserve and command our compassion and respect.

 

